GATE Exam Pattern

Home - GATE Exam Pattern


The GATE is conducted in the following 24 disciplines. A candidate can select any one of these.

Disciplines NamePaper CodeSyllabus
Aerospace EngineeringAE
Agricultural EngineeringAG
Architecture and PlanningAR
Civil EngineeringCE
Chemical EngineeringCH
Computer Science and Information TechnologyCS
Electronics and Communication EngineeringEC
Electrical EngineeringEE
Ecology and EvolutionEY
Geology and GeophysicsGG
Instrumentation EngineeringIN
Mathematics MA
Mechanical Engineering ME
Mining Engineering MN
Metallurgical Engineering MT
Petroleum Engineering PE
Physics PH
Production and Industrial Engineering PI
Textile Engineering and Fiber Science TF
Engineering Sciences XE*
Life Sciences XL**

There is a total of 14 paper sections that come under these two Papers. The paper sections under XE* and XL* are defined by some dedicated codes which are mentioned in the following table-

* Engineering Sciences (XE) Paper Sections
(A and any 2 of B to H)
Paper Code
Engineering Mathematics (Compulsory)A
Fluid MechanicsB
Materials ScienceC
Solid MechanicsD
Food TechnologyG
Atmospheric and Oceanic SciencesH
** Life Sciences (XL) Paper Sections
(P and any 2 of Q to U)
Paper Code
Chemistry (Compulsory)P
Food TechnologyU

GATE Exam Pattern

Feature Description
Duration of Exam 3 hours (180 minutes)
Total Number of Questions 65
Total Marks 100
Type of Question Two types of questions asked:

  • Multiple Choice Questions (MCQ)
  • Numerical Answer Type (NAT) Questions
Sections GATE 2019 question paper will consist of three sections:

  • General Aptitude
  • Engineering Mathematics (for XL papers it is Chemistry)
  • Subject – Specific section
General Aptitude Section The paper will consist of a mandatory General Aptitude (GA) section which will have 10 questions. 5 of the questions will be of 1 mark and the remaining 5 will be of 2 marks. Therefore, the total marks for this section will be 15 marks.
Marking Scheme
  • 1 mark MCQs – 1/3 mark will be deducted for every wrong answer.
  • 2 mark MCQs – 2/3 mark will be deducted for every wrong response.
  • Zero marks will be awarded for unattempted questions
  • No negative marking will be done for Numerical Answer Type (NAT) questions